MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held at The Royal College of Physicians, London Friday 25 November 2011

1. The Minutes of the last AGM held at the Royal College of Physicians, London on 26 November 2010 were agreed as correct.

2 President's Report

The President began by congratulating Geraint Williams on being awarded the OBE, Ian Roberts on becoming a Professor at Oxford and Kristin Henry on her Presidency of the IAP as well as announcing that the British Division was celebrating its 50 years in existence.

Following on from the Away Day in October 2011, Professor Shepherd reported of proposals, subsequently approved by Council, (a) to create a new International Subcommittee, (b) to increase the number of UK-based Councillors form three to five to reflect representation of the membership base and (c) to rename the Cunningham lecture as the Professor Kristin Henry lecture in honour of her becoming the President of the Central IAP. Members were asked to approve these proposals as they required changes in the constitution. All three were ratified.

3. General Secretary's Report

Professor Andrew Nicholson informed the Membership that Dr Eduardo Calonje was the successful candidate in the recent election to Council and would replace Professor Stephenson. He thanked Professor Stephenson for his work on Council over the past three years.

With regard to the Constitution

- it was suggested that applicants for the position of Officers on Council should have spent a term on Council before applying.
- -Trainees Councillors should be nominated and seconded by trainee members

Subscription rates to remain unchanged.

3 Nominations and Membership Subcommittee

Professor Geraint Williams reported that the Cunningham Medal would be awarded to Professor Elizabeth Whelan, and that Professor Sebastian Lucas should be awarded the President's Medal for 2011. Honorary membership was also given to Dr Stephen Wells. He also announced that both Professor Nicholson and Dr McMahon had been re-appointed to further terms of Office as Secretary and Treasurer respectively.

4 Meetings Subcommittee

Professor Ian Roberts reported on the success of the Joint Meeting with the Pathology Society in Ghent, Belgium in May 2011, and thanked Professor Cuvelier for his help in putting the meeting together. He announced that the 2012 Spring meeting would be held in Oxford on Dermatopathology, immediately preceded by a one-day meeting for Trainees, and that November 2012 meeting was to be held on Breast Pathology at the Royal Institute of British Architects. He also encouraged members to attend the Central IAP meeting in Cape Town in October 2012.

5 Education and IT Subcommittee

Dr Wells reported that the website now had a password-protected area and this would be used henceforth for recent meetings and other functions limited to members. He also reported that a bursary had been set up in honour of Nerman Durakovic, who had worked so hard in promoting pathology in the Balkan region. He also reported that other Bursaries and Grant opportunities continue to be available through the Division and could be accessed via the website.

6 Finance Subcommittee

Dr McMahon reported that the BDIAP remained in strong financial health with stable subscription income, an increase in investment income, an increase in overall assets and sustained income from Histopathology. The overall effect was a satisfactory increase in total assets from £2.110 to £2.455 (+16.4%), which reflected the improvement in general terms in the financial markets. This allowed the division to have another successful year in promoting education in pathology in the four home countries (UK, Ireland, Belgium and Netherlands) and through the international links with the Arab Division, Bosnia, Sri Lanka, and East, Central and Sothern Africa. He also reported that our relationship with our financial advisers, Brown Shipley, continues to go well.

7 Report of the Editor of Histopathology

Professor Mike Wells welcomed the new Editor, Professor Alastair Burt, who had already started handling new papers since July 2011and thanked his team of Associate Editors who had helped with this work and Tim Helliwell, Dan Berney and Sarah Pinder in particular. The President thanked Professor Wells on behalf of the Division for his exceptional work over the previous nine years.